Tomato and Macaroni Soup

CLick to enlargeYou’ll Need
1  pc small onion, chopped
1/4 kg ground beef
1 pc large carrot, diced
100 grams Elbow Macaroni
1 pouch (200 g) Tomato Sauce
1 tbsp cornstarch, dissolved in 1 tbsp water
4 stalks green onions, chopped
 
Here’s How:
1. Sauté onion and beef in oil. Add 4 cups of water and simmer until meat is tender. Add carrot and Elbow Macaroni. Cook for 8 minutes.

2. Add Tomato Sauce, salt, pepper and sugar to taste. Simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in dissolved cornstarch. Cook until thick. Top with green onions  just before serving.

This is the original recipe I got from Kitchenomics. But I changed a few things:
– Since I did not have tomato sauce at the time I was cooking, I used tomato paste (50 grams) instead.
– After seasoning and tasting the soup, I found out it did not have the ‘kick’ I wanted. So apart from salt, sugar and pepper, I added 2 ladlesful of fish sauce (patis).
– Next time I cook this, I’m thinking of adding the seasoning while I’m sauteeing the beef, before putting in the water. This might add more flavor to the meat and soup.

Explore posts in the same categories: Beef, Soups

Leave a comment